India | Uttar Pradesh

Banda District

Banda District has an area of 7,624 sq km. It is located in the Chitrakutam division of Uttar Pradesh with its headquarters at Banda. It is bounded by Fatehpur District in the north, Chitrakut District in the east, Hamirpur District and Mahoba District in the west, and Satna District, Panna District, and Chhatarpur District in the south adjoining Madhya Pradesh. Banda has a total population of 1.5 million. The district is named after Bamdeo, a sage mentioned in Hindu mythology as a contemporary of Lord Ram.

The Yamuna, Baghein, and Ken are the major rivers. The climate is characterized by hot summers and cold winters. The main source of economy is agriculture. Paddy, jowar, bajra, wheat, barley, gram, linseed, mustard and peas are cultivated.

Kalinjar fort, Bhuragarh fort, Rangarh fort, Khatri Pahar, Nawab tank, Bamdeo temple, Maheshwari Devi temple, and Four Stone Pillars at Kairada are some of the significant historical places.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Banda

Bus Stations (2) Museums and Archives (1) Temples (2)
Cities and Towns (12) Rivers (1) Trains and Railway Stations (1)
Forts (3) Sacred Places (3) Villages (3)
Historical Monuments (5) Springs (1) Wildlife Sanctuaries (1)

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

privacy policy