India | Uttar Pradesh

Azamgarh District

Azamgarh District of Uttar Pradesh lies to the south of the Ghaghra River. It is named after its headquarters town, Azamgarh, which was founded in 1665 by Azam, son of Vikramajit. Vikramajit, a descendant of Gautam Rajputs of Mehnagar in pargana Nizamabad, had embraced the faith of Islam.

Azamgarh has an area of 4,234 sq km, bounded by Mau District, Gorakhpur District, Ghazipur District, Jaunpur District, Sultanpur District, and Ambedkarnagar District. The population is 4 million. The town Azamgarh is on Lucknow-Ballia state highway, 269 km from the capital Lucknow.

The hot season is from March to the middle of June. The average annual rainfall is 1,021 mm and it varies from 979 mm at Deogaon to 1,060 mm at Azamgarh. The Ghaghra and Tons (Tamasa) are the important rivers. Besides these rivers, there are a number of lakes.

Primarily, the economy depends on agricultural base while the industrial base stands very weak. The main industries are the Kisan Sahkari Chini Mills, Benarasi Sari Udyog, Black Pottery, Foods And Allied Products, and Chemicals and Allied Products.

Azambargh City, Nizamabad, Mubarakpur are some of the places worthy of visit.

Updated on 8th September, 2005
District: Azamgarh

Bus Stations (6) Handicrafts (1) Villages (8)
Cities and Towns (18) Sacred Places (1)

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

privacy policy