India | Uttar Pradesh

Gorakhpur District

Gorakhpur District in Uttar Pradesh derives its name from Gorakshnath, a famous ascetic and saint of Nath Sampradaya. It is bordered by Maharajganj District in the north, Ambedkarnagar District, Azamgarh District and Mau District in the south, Kushinagar District and Deoria District in the east, and Sant Kabir Nagar District in the west. The population is 3.7 million, distributed over an area of 3,325 sq km.

Ancient Gorakhpur, collectively known as Gorakhpur Janpad, was an important sector of Aryan culture and civilization.

The places to visit are Gorakhnath Temple, Vishnu Temple, Geeta Vatika, Imambara, Ramgarh Tal, Kapilvastu, and Kushinagar.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Gorakhpur

Bus Stations (4) Lakes and Glaciers (1) Temples (2)
Churches (1) Museums and Archives (2) Trains and Railway Stations (2)
Cities and Towns (14) Parks and Gardens (1) Villages (11)
Colleges and Research Institutions (2) Sacred Places (2) Wildlife Sanctuaries (1)
Hotels (1) Schools (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments