India | Uttar Pradesh

Pratapgarh District

The district of Pratapgarh is a part of Faizabad divison in Uttar Pradesh. It is surrounded by Sultanpur District in the north, Allahabad District in the south, Jaunpur District in the east, Fatehpur District in the west, and Rae Bareli District in the north-east. The headquarters is at Bela, which came to be known as Bela Pratapgarh. The population is 2.7 million, which is spread over an area of 3,717 sq km.

The name Pratapgarh is associated with Pratap Singh, a king of the locality, who ruled during the 17th century. He erected a fort at this place and it was named after him as Pratapgarh. Gradually the area around the fort also came to be known by the fortís name.

Majority of people depend on agriculture as their main occupation. Rice, wheat, barely, jowar, gram, and peas are some of the major crops.

Bela Bhawani temple, Ghuisernath temple, Bilkharnath temple, Chandrika Devi temple, and Sain Data ki Kuti are some of the important religious spots.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Pratapgarh

Bus Stations (4) Spiritual Centers (1) Trains and Railway Stations (1)
Cities and Towns (17) Temples (2) Villages (2)

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

privacy policy