Popular Pages


India | Uttar Pradesh

Bahraich District

Bahraich District is situated in the north-eastern part of Devipatan division in Uttar Pradesh. It spreads over an area of 6,877 sq km. Bahraich is bounded by Nepal on the northern part, Bara-Banki District and Sitapur District in the south, Kheri District in the west and Gonda District and Shravasti District on the eastern side. Thick forests and swift rivers are the specialties. Chakia, Sujauli, Nishangara, Mihinpurwa, Bichia and Baghauli are the main forest areas and the Sarayu and Ghaghra, the major rivers.

Bahraich District is rich in history. Once it was famous as the capital of Lord Brahma, the creator of the universe. It was also known as part of the Gandharva forest. Today also, the north-eastern part is covered by forest. It is said that Lord Brahma adapted this area into a place of worship for rishis and sadhus. Therefore this place came to be known as Brahmaich. According to some other historians, this place was the capital of the Bhar dynasty and so called 'Bharraich' which later came to be known as 'Bahraich'.

The climate is hot and humid. The average rainfall is 1,125 mm. Agriculture is the main occupation of the residents. Wheat, rice, sugarcane, pulse, and mustard are the major crops. Mostly industries based on agricultural and forest products exist here. There are two sugar mills, one in Nanpara and the other in Jarwal. Besides sugar mills there are some rice and daal mills.

Dargah Sharief, Chittaura Jheel, Junglee Nath Temple, and Kartaniya Ghat Alligator breeding center are places of tourist interest.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Bahraich

Bus Stations (2) Tourist Destinations (1) Wildlife Sanctuaries (1)
Cities and Towns (8) Trains and Railway Stations (2)
Lakes and Glaciers (2) Villages (9)

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments