Popular Pages


India | Andhra Pradesh

Cuddapah District

Cuddapah belonged to the Madras Presidency during the British occupation of India and was once ruled by the Pallavas, Telugu Cholas, Vijayanagara kings and Nizam Nawabs. Cuddapah was earlier known as Hiranya State.

Cuddapah District in Andhra Pradesh covers an area of 15,359 sq km. Half a million hectares comprise forest area. The major agricultural produce includes paddy, ground nut, red gram, turmeric, onion, lemon and orange. The major industries are Industrial Estates at Cuddapah and Proddatur, and India Cements and Texma coal limited at Erraguntla. Handloom Industry at Madhavaram is one of the major sources of income. Rare red sandalwood and timber also earns foreign income.

Important tourist spots are Nandaluru, Masjid-E-Azam, Vempalli, Jammalamadugu, Gandikota Fort and Chand Phira Gumbadh. Pilgrimage centers are Pothuluri Veerabrahmendra Swamy Mutt at KandhimallayaPalli, Veeranjaneya Swamy Temple, Jyotiswara temple, Sri Kanya Teertham at Jammalamadugu, Sri Aathma Rama Swamy Temple and Sri Kanyaka Parameswari Temple at Proddatur.

Updated on 10th September, 2014

Bus Stations (7) Historical Monuments (1) Trains and Railway Stations (20)
Cities and Towns (53) Hotels (1) Villages (39)
Colleges and Research Institutions (1) Sacred Places (1) Wildlife Sanctuaries (2)
Fairs and Festivals (1) Spiritual Centers (1)
Forts (1) Temples (7)

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments