India | Uttar Pradesh | Agra

Taj Mahal

One of the Seven Wonders of the World

Taj Mahal, the mausoleum of the Mughal Empress Mumtaz Mahal, is the most precious architectural heritage of India. This everlasting symbol of love was built by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan, in memory of his beloved.

This massive building of white marble, the result of the incessant work of over twenty-thousand workmen and master craftsmen for twenty-two laborious years, was finally completed in 1648 on the banks on the river Yamuna in Agra, the capital of Mughal monarchs. Built under the supervision of Persian architect Ustad Isa, the Taj Mahal has the verses of the holy Quran inscribed on it, and the gate crowned by 22 small doves. Experts from Europe, Austin of Bordeaux and Veroneo of Venice, had also been consulted for the construction.

The Taj Mahal stands on a red sandstone base topped by a 313 sq ft marble platform, bounded by a high wall with broad octagonal pavilions at the corners. The famous onion-shaped central dome, 60 ft in diameter, and 80 ft high, is flanked by four tapering minarets. The jewel-inlaid cenotaph of the queen lies within the dome. The casket of Shah Jahan, said to have been built as an after-thought, is beside the cenotaph.

The enduring love, tenderness and majestic splendor that inspired this construction seem to scintillate from the Taj, residing in resplendence on the plain across the River Yamuna, where colors famously play magic on the monument. The tomb, especially, has been perpetually admired for its perfect proportions and exquisite craftsmanship.

This foremost tourist spot in India is well-connected to other cities, and all facilities for food and accomodation are available in the vicinity.

Updated on 17th August, 2018
District: Agra
Location: Agra

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments