Popular Pages



Vaigai Express

Started on August 15, 1977, Vaigai Express runs between Chennai Egmore Railway Station and Madurai Junction Railway Station. Both stations are located in Tamil Nadu. The train is named after the Vaigai River. It is the only train in Southern Railways which has completely tube lighted interiors and sun control sliding glass shutters installed for the first time ever in India in all its 8 second class coaches. Also it is the one and only meter guage train on the Southern Railways to be fitted with specially improved buffers and certified to run at 110 km per hour.

Main towns on the way are Tambaram, Chengalpattu, Virudhachalam, Ariyalur, Tiruchirapalli and Dindigul. Vaigai Express operates daily and covers a distance of 497 km in seven hrs.

Train number 2635: Chennai to Madurai, leaves Chennai at 12:25 hrs.
Train number 2636: Madurai to Chennai, leaves Madurai at 06:45 hrs.

Base fare:
Class CC – Rs 479.00
Class 2S – Rs 143.00

Updated on 23rd July, 2015

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments