Popular Pages


India | Kerala

Vikram Sarabhai Space Center

Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (VSSC) is the main research and development establishment of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO). It was named in honour of the late Professor Vikram A. Sarabhai (1919-1971), founder of the Indian Space Program. This national establishment is working on the development of sounding rockets: Rohini and Menaka, and launchers: ASLV, PSLV and GSLV, along with the solid motor program.

The facility is situated near the Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS), about 16 km north of Thiruvananthapuram in Thiruvananthapuram District, Kerala. VSSC also possesses an Ammonium Perchlorate Experimental Plant at Aluva. Liquid Propulsion Systems Center (LPSC) at Valiamala, renowned for developing the indigenous cryogenic engine, is a part of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Center.

Updated on 7th July, 2014
Phone: +91-471-2705376

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments