Popular Pages




Founded by Dantidurga, Rashtrakutas was one of the three powerful empires which emerged after the death of Harsha in the north, others being the Pratiharas and the Bengals. This dynasty extended from Gujarat, Malwa and Bagelkhand to Tanjore in the south.

Dantidurga defeated Vikramaditya II, the Chalukya king, and was succeeded by his son Krishna I. Krishna I, apart from being a great warrior, was a great patron of art and architecture, which is evident from the rock cut temple found at Ellora.

Govinda II, also known as Prabhuta Varsa, ascended the throne after the passing away of Krishna I. He too was an accomplished warrior, and was overthrown by his younger brother, Dhruva Nirupama, who in turn increased the power and prestige of the Rashtrakuta Dynasty by defeating the Gujarat Vastaraja of Malwa, the Raja Dharampala of Bengal and Raja Dhantivarman, the Pallava ruler.

Dhruva Nirupama was later succeeded by his son Govinda III. He was a powerful ruler, and was followed by Amoghavarsha, who reigned from 815 to 877 AD. Amoghavarsha is considered the fourth greatest monarchs of the world. He played a major role in patronizing Jainism.

The last greatest ruler of the Rashtrakuta Dynasty was Krishna III, who surrendered to the Later Chalukyas in the 11th century.

Updated on 7th June, 2005

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments