Taj Express

Introduced in 1964, Taj Express runs between Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway Station in Delhi and Gwalior Railway Station in Madhya Pradesh. It is named after the Taj Mahal in Agra. The train is known for its excellent punctuality record, speed and reliability. At first the train was run between Nizamuddin and Agra. Later it was extended to Gwalior.

Accommodation includes A/C chair cars and second seating coaches. Light dinner is served on board on the return leg. Taj Express operates daily and covers a distance of 308 km with a speed of 105 km per hr. Main towns on the way are Faridabad, Mathura, Dhaulpur and Morena.

Train number 2179: Gwalior to Nizamuddin, leaves Gwalior at 16:55 hrs.
Train number 2180: Nizamuddin to Gwalior, leaves Nizamuddin at 07:15 hrs.

Base fare:
Class CC Rs 352.00
Class 2S Rs 107.00

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments