National Highways Authority of India

The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) was constituted by the Government of India through a National Highways Authority of India Act, 1988. Authorized to implement the National Highways Development Project (NHDP), it started functioning from February, 1995. Based at New Delhi, the main objectives are to build and maintain new and existing National Highways, to provide better connectivity through roads to the ports, implement road safety measures and environmental management and to introduce Information Technology in construction, maintenance and all operations of NHAI. The major projects undertaken by the authority are 'Golden Quadrilateral' (5,846 km) connecting Delhi-Kolkata-Chennai-Mumbai, and 'North-South-East-West Corridor' (7,300 km) connecting Kashmir to Kanyakumari and Silchar to Porbandar. The office of NHAI is located at Dwarka in South West Delhi District.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: South West Delhi
Phone: 91-011-25074100
Fax: 91-011-25093507


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments