India | Uttar Pradesh

Deoria District

Deoria District in Uttar Pradesh is bounded by the districts Kushinagar in the north, Mau and Ballia in the south, Gorakhpur in the west, and Gopalganj and Siwan of Bihar in the east. It is spread over an area of 2,613 km. The district headquarters is at Deoria.

It is believed that Deoria derived its present name from Devaranya or Devpuria. The area was believed to be part of Kosala rajya, which has a close connection with the Ramayana. It was under the reign of many rulers such as the Mauryas, Guptas, Bhars and Gharwals. The fossils found at many places reveal that there was a developed and organized society long ago. Bhojpuri is the language commonly used among the rural people.

Agriculture is the main occupation. Wheat, gram, mustard, rice, and maize are some of the major crops produced. Sugarcane is also produced in plenty.

Shahid Smarak in Ramlila Maidan, Hanuman Mandir, Somnath Mandir, and Deorahi Mandir, Chauri Chaura, Fazilnagar, and Parshuram Dham in Sohnag are some of the noteworthy places.

Updated on 7th June, 2005

Bus Stations (4) Sacred Places (1) Trains and Railway Stations (3)
Cities and Towns (11) Temples (2) Villages (2)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments