Popular Pages


India | Karnataka

Kodagu District

Also Known as Coorg District

Kodagu is one of the smallest districts in Karnataka. The hill station Madikeri is the headquarters. The total geographical area is 4,102 sq km. It is the land of coffee, pepper, honey, cardamom and oranges.

Kodavas are the main ethnic group. Gowdas, Brahmins, Christians and Jains are other communities who live in Kodagu. The local language, Kodava, has influences of Kannada, Malayalam and Tamil.

The largest river is the Cauvery with principal tributaries the Hemavati, Lakshmanathirtha, Kakkabbe and Harangi flows in an easterly direction and the river Barapole flows towards west. Kodagu is mountainous with major peaks such as Tadiyandamol, Brahmagiri and Pushpagiri hills. The major festivals are Dussehra, Huttari (Puthari), Tula Sankramana, and Guru Karona.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Kodagu

Bus Stations (2) Hill Stations (1) Schools (1)
Camps and Farmhouses (1) Hills and Mountains (3) Temples (3)
Cities and Towns (14) Historical Monuments (1) Tourist Destinations (2)
Clubs (1) Hotels (5) Vegetarian Restaurants (1)
Cottages (4) Lodges (1) Villages (14)
Cuisines (1) Palaces (1) Waterfalls (2)
Dams and Reservoirs (1) Resorts (6) Wildlife Sanctuaries (3)
Fairs and Festivals (4) Rivers (3)
Guest Houses (2) Sacred Places (1)

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments