Veda Vyasa

Sage Veda Vyasa was born to Matsyagandhi Satyavati, a fisherman's daughter, and Sage Parasara, the great master of the Vedas. He composed the Puranas, Upa-Puranas and the great epic Mahabharata. He also wrote the Vedanta Darsana.

It was Vyasa who divided the complex Vedas into four namely: Rig Veda, Yajur Veda, Sama Veda and Atharva Veda, for the convenience of people so that people could easily understand them. Believed to be an embodiment of Lord Vishnu, Veda Vyasa is worshipped as a god. Hindus consider him as the 'guru of gurus' or Adi Guru. He is also known as Krishna Dwaipayana (the dark one born on an island).

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments