Dhatus are the seven basic tissues of the body. The word ‘dhatu’ is derived from the verb 'Dhru', meaning to support. According to Ayurveda, dhatu means to support and nourish.

Dhatus exist in many forms: liquid, semi-solid and solid. The seven dhatus are namely Rasa (Chyle including lymph), Raktha (Blood), Mamsa (Muscle), Meda (Fat tissues), Asthi (Bone), Majja (Marrow) and Shukra (Semen). Dhatus tend to grow with the body and buildup and maintain the body structure. The seven dhatus are kept in the body in certain equilibrium. Any disturbance in this balance will cause diseases.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments