India | Uttaranchal

Garhwal Himalayas

Garhwal Region

Abounding in natural beauty, blessed with a variety of flora and fauna, the Garhwal Himalayas sprawls across the districts of Uttarkashi, Chamoli, Pauri Garhwal and Tehri Garhwal in Uttaranchal and occupies over some 55,000 sq km. Tons River separates Garhwal from Himachal Pradesh in the west and Kumaon in the east. Starting from the foothills in the south, it extends up to snow clad peaks, making the Indo Tibetan boundary. Garhwal region is marked by the distinct lifestyles of the various types of hill people, their culture and traditions.

Known as ‘Dev Bhoomi’ (the abode of gods), Garhwal Himalayas is the source of the two most holy rivers Ganga and Yamuna. Lofty peaks, swift rivers, steep escarpments, deep gorges, hanging valleys, glaciers and lakes, numerous gushing streams, swift cascading waterfalls, and lush green meadows mark this area. Garhwal Himalayas is an ideal base for trekking, mountaineering, rafting and skiing.

Garhwal abounds in myths and legends of Indian Gods. Here lie Char Dham (four major Hindu shrines) - Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri - which have attracted Hindu pilgrims for ages. This region is closely associated with the legendary heroes of the Mahabharata and Ramayana.

Prominent attractions are Hemkund, Gobindghat, Gaumukh, Gangotri Glacier and Valley of Flowers. Some of the most challenging peaks in Garhwal are Nanda Devi, Trishul, Shivling, Bhagirathi, Kamet, Neelkanth, Dunagiri and Banderpunch.

Garhwal Himalayan Explorations arranges tours to this place.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments