India | Uttar Pradesh

Kaushambi District

The district of Kaushambi was earlier part of Allahabad District. It has an area of 2,015 sq km, bordered by Chitrakut District in the south, Pratapgarh District in the north, Allahabad District in the east, and Fatehpur District in the west. The population is 1.3 million. Kaushambi was one of the six most important and prosperous towns of ancient India during Buddha’s time. There are mainly two rivers Ganges and Yamuna. People depend on agriculture. Wheat, rice, arhar, urad, chana, and guava are the main agricultural products.

Kaushambi was the capital of the Chandravanshi kings. There are many historical places and pilgrim centers. Its historical importance lies also in that the 6th Tirthankar Padmaprabhu of the Jains was born, brought up and educated here. Durga Devi temple of Manjhanpur, Kamasin Devi temple, Shri Ram temple Bajha, Kara, Prabhasgiri, and Kaushambi are chief tourist attractions. The important towns are Sirathu and Bharwari, both have railway stations.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Kaushambi

Bus Stations (4) Sacred Places (1) Trains and Railway Stations (1)
Cities and Towns (11) Temples (2) Villages (2)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments