Bay of Bengal

The Bay of Bengal, a sea in the north-eastern arm of the Indian Ocean, is located between 5N and 22N latitudes and 80E and 100E longitudes. Triangular in shape, it is bordered by Sri Lanka and India in the west, Bangladesh in the north, Myanmar and Thailand in the east, and the southern part extends to Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The Bay of Bengal has an area of about 2.2 million sq km and the average depth is 2,600 m with a maximum depth of 5,258 m. The major rivers in India that flows to the Bay are the Ayeyarwady, Ganges, Meghna, Brahmaputra, Mahanadi, Godavari, Krishna, and Cauvery. The Sunderbans mangrove forest is formed at the delta of the Ganges, Brahmaputra and Meghna rivers on the Bay of Bengal. The main ports are at Vishakhapatnam, Paradip, Chennai, Pondicherry and Kolkata.

Updated on 15th April, 2019


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments