Arabian Sea

The Arabian Sea, part of the Indian Ocean, lies between the Arabian Peninsula and the Indian subcontinent. It is calculated to be 2,400 km wide and about 5,000 m deep. The largest stream flowing into the Arabian Sea is the Indus River. The Arabian sea merges with the Gulf of Oman in the northwest, which through the Strait of Hormuz flows into the Persian Gulf, and the Gulf of Aden in the southwest.

The Arabian sea is an important trade route between the Indian subcontinent and the states of the Persian Gulf and Mediterranean Sea. India, Iran, Oman, Pakistan, Yemen, and United Arab Emirates lie along the coastline of the Arabian sea. The Indian cities Mumbai, Kochi, and Thiruvananthapuram, the beaches of Goa and Thiruvananthapuram, and the Juhu beach of Mumbai are on its coast.

Updated on 15th April, 2019


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments