Western Railways

Western Railways, one of the sixteen zonal railways in India, emerged in its present form on November 5, 1951. It serves Gujarat, a large part of Rajasthan, some portions of Madhya Pradesh, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh. Western Railways also serves the metropolitan city of Mumbai. The suburban section of the Railways in Mumbai extends from Churchgate to Dahanu. Western Railways was the first one in the world to launch a special train exclusively for ladies (between Churchgate and Virar.)

The main railway stations under the Western Railways include Mumbai Central Railway Station, Mumbai Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, Jaipur Junction Railway Station and Ahmedabad Junction Railway Station.

Updated on 15th April, 2019

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments