Northern Railways

Of the sixteen zones of Indian Railways, Northern Railways is the largest zone in terms of route kilometers. It was officially established in 1952. The railways is headquartered at Baroda House, New Delhi, with divisional headquarters at Ambala, Delhi, Firozpur, Lucknow and Moradabad. Northern Railways serves the states of Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Chandigarh.

To ensure safety train operations, Route Relay Interlocking (RRI) systems is provided at the main stations. The RRI system installed at the main station of Delhi is the largest in the world, certified by the Guinness Book of Records. Other facilities provided at the main stations include Computerized Passenger Reservation System, Interactive Voice Response System (IVRS), Electronic Display System, Reservation Availability Position Information Display (RAPID), Self Dial Telephone Reservation Enquiry Booths (I ASK), Automatic Teller Machines (ATM), money changing facilities, retiring rooms and catering facilities.

Besides passenger trains, Northern Railways operates freight trains daily. The important train services available are Rajdhani Express, Swaraj Express, Shatabdi Express, Mussorie Express and Sadbhavna Express. New Delhi Railway Station, Lucknow Junction Railway Station and Jammu Tawi Railway Station are some of the main stations managed by the Northern Railways.

Contact: Public Relations Office, Northern Railway, NOCR BLDG., State Entry Road, New Delhi.

Updated on 17th August, 2018
District: New Delhi
Phone: +91-11-23363469
Fax: +91-11-23363469


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments