Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology is based on Brihat Parasara Hora Sastra, an ancient text written sage Parasara. Vedic Astrology is divided into Samhita, Hora and Siddhanta systems.

Vedic Astrology is based on the Vedic theory of creation and ‘karma’ (deeds). This science aims to guide a person through the path leading to spiritual success. It deals with the four major goals in human life, which are ‘Dharma’ (duty or purpose of life), ‘Artha’ (financial and materialistic), ‘Kama’ (desires and pleasure) and ‘Moksha’ (liberation of the soul from the cycle of birth and death).

One of striking aspects of Vedic Astrology is its distinction between fate and destiny. According to this science fate is decided by cosmic laws, while destiny is the result of one’s action and the people he/she comes in contact with. This branch of astrology refers to the heavenly bodies that influence a person’s life. Along with showing the destiny of a person, it also throws light on the remedies to be implemented to reduce the ill-effects of a negative factor. The remedies range from the use of special gems to various rituals.

Apart from the nine planets in the solar system, Vedic Astrology also depends on 2 auxiliary entities called ‘rahu’ and ‘ketu’. These entities are actually the north and south nodes of the moon respectively. Similar to the astrological system followed in most parts of the world, Vedic Astrology also follows the system of 12 houses in preparing the birth chart of a person.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments