India | Orissa

Utkala Diwasa

Utkala Diwasa is an important day for the eastern state of Orissa. This day marks the formation of the state in the Indian union. Orissa was formed on 1st April 1936 by combining the districts of Cuttack, Puri, Baleswar, Sambalpur, Ganjam and Koraput. The formation was the result of the untiring efforts of prominent political personalities such as Jatiya Gaurav Madhusudan Das, Utkalamani Gopabandhu Das, Maharaja Shri Ramachandra Bhanjadeo, Raja Baikunthanath Dey and Gourishankar Ray.

Every year April 1st is a public holiday in Orissa. Numerous functions, cultural programs and seminars form part of the celebrations. The celebration is not bound only within the state, but extends to other parts of the country and the world. People of Orissan origin, irrespective of their current location, celebrate this event with a sense of fervor and love towards their motherland.

Updated on 9th July, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments