India | Delhi | New Delhi

The Parliament

The Parliament, the supreme law-making body of India, is the center of political power. The fate of Indian democracy is decided here. Indian Parliament consists of three halls – Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and the Central hall. Situated at the end of the Sansad Marg or Parliament Street in New Delhi, the Parliament houses ministerial offices, numerous committee rooms and a well-equipped library.

The Parliament building is a circular colonnaded building, 171 m in diameter with an open verandah with 144 columns. During the sessions, visitors can enter the Parliament with prior permission. This huge, circular and colonnaded building is decorated by beautiful paintings depicting scenes from the Indian history. The Parliament is also known as Sansad Bhawan.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: New Delhi
Location: Sansad Marg
New Delhi

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

privacy policy