India | Orissa

Somavamsis Dynasty

The Somavamsis Dynasty ruled coastal Orissa during the period 915 – 1118, after the destruction of Bhaumakara Dynasty. Sivagupta was the first ruler of this dynasty and established a new kingdom with Suvarnapura (Sonpur) as the capital. Somavamsis were the followers of Saivism and sakti cult. They had given the modern feature of Orissa. Most of the temples were built during the period of Somavamsis such as Mukteswar Temple, Rajarani Temple, Brahmeswara Temple and Lingaraj Temple. Karnadeva was the last ruler of Somavamsis Dynasty. After the downfall of this dynasty, the Eastern Ganga Dynasty occupied the coastal Orissa.

Updated on 25th December, 2015

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

privacy policy