India | Orissa

Sailodbhava Dynasty

The Sailodbhavas ruled over the coastal region of Orissa in the 6th and 7th century. Their rule extended from the Mahanadi River in the north to Mahendragiri in the south. The territory was known as Kangoda mandala. Pulindasena was the first ruler of Sailodbhava dynasty.

The rulers of the Sailodbhava Dynasty belonged to the Saiva sect (followers of Lord Shiva). They provided grants for the cause of the Saiva sect. They performed many great sacrifices pertaining to the Hindu rituals. The rulers gifted lands and villages mostly to Brahmins and occasionally to temples.

Dharmaraja was the last greatest ruler of Sailodbhava dynasty. After the end of Sailodbhava dynasty in 736 AD, Bhaumakaras raised in coastal Orissa.

Updated on 6th November, 2019


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments