Ratnasambhava is one of the five Dhyani Buddhas, and his name signifies 'the Jewel-born One.' The three jewels are the Buddha, the Dharma and the Sangha. The Buddha is the Enlightened One, the Guru, Dharma is the Teaching, or the Law. The Sangha is the Community.

Ratnasambhava destroys the poison of spiritual and intellectual pride and changes it into the Wisdom of Equality. The Wisdom of Equality is absolutely necessary to view all things with divine impartiality and recognize the divine equality of all beings.

His color is yellow, the color of the sun at its zenith. Ratnasambhava rules over the element of earth and embodies the skandha of feeling or sensation. His jewel is the ratna or chintamani, a wish-fulfilling jewel. The chintamani is a symbol of the liberated mind, often depicted in a threefold form as the triratna symbolic of the union of Buddha, Dharma and Sangha.

Ratnasambhava's animal is the horse, denoting impetus and liberation. His mudra is the varada mudra, signifying giving, or charity, which portrays him offering compassion and protection to his disciples. His bija is Tram and his mantra is 'Om Ratnasambhava Tram.'

Updated on 27th November, 2014


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments