India | Orissa | Konark

Nine Planets' Shrine

Nine Planets' Shrine, also known as the Navagraha Temple, is situated at the Sun Temple at Konark. It has a 6 m chlorite slab, which forms the center piece of the small shrine. The shrine of the nine planets of the Hindus are that of the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu (dragon’s head), and Ketu (dragon’s tail). The carved seated figure in the shrine represents the Surya or Sun.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Puri
Location: Konark    


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments