India | Tamil Nadu

Neyveli Thermal Power Stations

There are two power stations at Neyveli. The Thermal Power Station-I produces 600 MW. This power station is unique in that it is the first lignite power station in South East Asia and the first pit head power station in India. It also got the distinction of being the largest Thermal Power Station in South India.

The Second Thermal Power Station consists of 7 sets of 210 MW each, with a total capacity of 1470 MW. In February 1978, the Government of India sanctioned the Second Thermal Power Station. The main feature of Neyveli Thermal Power Station-II is that it is the largest lignite fired unit. It is the first tower type boiler in the country with a height around 93 m. The power station is the first software based burner management system.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Cuddalore


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments