Krishna Yajurveda

Krishna Yajurveda is one of the Samhitas of Yajur Veda. Krishnayajurveda’s 12 branches are found cited in many puranas. They are Taittiriya, Maitraayani, Katha, Charaka, Aharaka, Praachyakatha, Kapishtalakatha, Oupamanyava, Vaartaantaveya, Shwetashwatara, Chaaraayaneeya and Vaaraayaneeya. Another version is that it originally had 82 branches or sakas, out of which only 4 are available now. Krishna Yajurveda is composed in metrical form in some portions and prose form in some portions, and a mixture of both.

More popular in south India, Krishna Yajurveda follows the Brahma Sampradaya. It is believed that Krishna Yajurveda was taught by Sage Vaisampayana. The well known Katha Upanishad belongs to this ancient text.

Updated on 20th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments