India | Karnataka

Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC)

Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation is a passenger transport company set up under the Road Transport Corporations Act 1950, in the year 1961, and wholly owned by the Karnataka State Government. The Government of India is also a share holder in the corporation. Over the years, the corporation has been divided into Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC), North Western Karnataka Road Transport Corporation (NWKRTC) and North East Karnataka Road Transport Corporation (NEKRTC) in order to cater specifically to various regions in Karnataka.

From its modest beginning in 1961, KSRTC, by now, has grown to own 10 divisional offices, 50 depots, 2 body-building workshops, 1 printing press, 103 bus stands and over 4,706 buses. Its extensive service network links almost whole of Karnataka and important destinations in the neighboring states of Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa, Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra.

KSRTC’s Airavat services run fully air-conditioned buses connecting Bangalore with major destinations in the neighboring states. It’s Mayura and Rajahamsa Semi-Sleeper and Executive services stand out in its travel comfort and attractive interiors. Karnataka Sarige runs mofussil services, while Grameena Sarige runs minibuses serving rural areas. The KSRTC also offers pick up / drop services, casual contract services for weddings and pilgrimages and chartered contract services for industries and institutions.

Updated on 9th September, 2014
Phone: +91-80-2237465


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments