India | Madhya Pradesh | Sanchi

Four Gateways at Sanchi

The four gateways were constructed in 35 BC. They are also known as Toranas. The structures are covered with explicit carvings depicting scenes from the life of Buddha and the Jatakas. The four gateways are the Western Gate, Eastern Gate, Southern Gate, and Northern Gate.

The Western gate has carvings that portray the seven incarnations of Buddha. One of the carvings depicts Buddha resisting the temptation of Mara. The Eastern gate depicts the story of the departure of Prince Gautama from his house. Hanging images of Yakshi are carved on the architraves. The Southern gate is the oldest and it is adorned with carvings of scenes from the life of Ashoka and Buddha's birth. The Northern gate depicts the miracles that took place in the life of Buddha. The architraves of this gate are supported by elephants facing four directions.

Updated on 19th December, 2005
District: Raisen
Location: Sanchi    


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments