India | West Bengal

Farakka Thermal Power Plant

Farakka Thermal Power Plant with a capacity of 1600 MW is located in Murshidabad District of West Bengal.

The plant started its commercial production in 1996 and has three 200 MW and three 500 MW units. West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa and Sikkim consume the power generated by Farakka Thermal Power Plant. The coal for the power generation is taken from Rajmahal Coal Field and water from Farakka Feeder Canal.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Murshidabad


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments