College of Agriculture was founded in 1955 at Vellayani
, a village on the outskirts of Thiruvananthapuram
. The college is housed in the palace building belonging to the royal family of erstwhile Travancore
. It is under the faculty of agriculture of the Kerala Agricultural University
A pioneering institution of its kind in Kerala, the college offers undergraduate and post graduate programs in the field of agriculture. A well-maintained farm helps in field facilities for giving adequate work experience for the BSc course and for conducting researches of MSc and PhD students.
The college has departments for agronomy, soil science, horticulture, agricultural botany and plant breeding, entomology, plant pathology, plantation crops, agricultural extension and agricultural economics. It houses a soil museum under the supervision of the department of soil science. The college also operates a sales counter cum information center for the benefit of the public.
Seminars, symposia, workshops, field days and farmers' fairs are usually organized. On-campus and off-campus trainings are imparted to various categories of officers of the Department of Agriculture, Co-operation, Forest and Nationalized Banks by the concerned specialists of the college.