Aravidu Dynasty

Rulers of Vijaynagara Kingdom

In the early seventeenth century, the Battle of Talikota was fought between the Muslim rulers and the Hindu rulers. In this battle the Muslims emerged victorious, making way for their rule in most parts of South India. During this period the most dominant Hindu power in the south was the Vijayanagara Empire. The alliance that was formed between the Muslim rulers during the battle of Talikota, did not last long. The ruler of Vijaynagara Empire was Sadasiva Raya. Even though he was the ruler, the actual powers lay in the hand of Rama Raya. Rama Raya's brother Tirumala took the opportunity of the breaking of the alliance of the Muslims. He dethroned Sadasiva and ascended the throne. Tirumala established the rule of Aravidu dynasty, to which he belonged, in Vijaynagara Empire. His successors Ranga-II, Venkata-II and Ranga-III kept the empire intact. But with the course of time, the empire disintegrated with some of the viceroys establishing their own independence. Kingdom of Mysore (in Karnataka) replaced the Vijayanagara Empire.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments