Ahimsa Express

Introduced in 1995, Ahimsa Express runs between Ahmedabad Junction Railway Station in Gujarat and Pune Junction Railway Station in Maharashtra. (‘ahimsa,’ meaning ‘non-violence,’ is the core concept in Gandhian thought.) Major towns on the way are Nadiad, Vadodara, Surat, Valsad, Vasai, Bhiwandi and Kalyan. This train covers a distance of 636 km. Second A/C, third A/C and sleeper class coaches are available.

Train number 1095: Ahmedabad to Pune, leaves Ahmedabad at 16:00 hrs on Monday, Saturday and Sunday.
Train number 1096: Pune to Ahmedabad, leaves Pune at 19:40 hrs on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Base fare:
Class IIA – Rs 1096.00
Class IIIA – Rs 705.00
Class SL – Rs 261.00

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments