India | Uttar Pradesh

Kanpur Dehat District

Kanpur Dehat District in Uttar Pradesh was part of former Kanpur district, which was divided into two other districts in 1981, namely Kanpur Nagar and Kanpur Dehat. The name Kanpur is derived from the original name Kanhapur given by the two rulers Hindu Singh of Sachendi and Ghanshyam Singh of Ramaipur.

At present, Kanpur Dehat has an area of 5,111 sq km, including 5 tehsils and 10 development blocks. The population is over 1.5 million. The district headquarters is at Akbarpur(Mati). The Ganges and Yamuna are the major rivers.

People depend mostly on agriculture and other allied activities. Paddy, maize, pulse crops, wheat, potato and sunflower are the major crops.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Kanpur-Dehat

Bus Stations (6) Trains and Railway Stations (3)
Cities and Towns (18) Villages (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments