India | Uttar Pradesh

Mirzapur District

Mirzapur District is a part of Vindhyachal division in Uttar Pradesh. It is bounded by Varanasi District in the north, Sonbhadra District in the south, and Allahabad District in the west. Mirzapur has an area of 4,522 sq km, with a population over 2.1 million.

The districtís name is associated with Goddess Lakshmi who emerged from the sea. Mirza, Vindhyavasini and Lakshmi are alternative names of the goddess whose temple exists at Vindhyachal. The word Mirza is constituted of the two words 'Mir' meaning 'sea' and 'ja' meaning 'outcome,' with the additional 'pur' standing for 'town'. Another contention is that the town was formerly called Girijapur which later became Mirzapur.

Sita Kund, Lal Bhairav Temple, Motia Talab, Geruaa Talab, Kali khoh, Tanda water fall, Vindham fall and Ramshila are some of the important tourist and religious places. Vindhyachal Dham in Mirzapur is one of the holiest places in India.

Updated on 30th April, 2015
District: Mirzapur

Bus Stations (5) Hotels (1) Trains and Railway Stations (2)
Cities and Towns (16) Rivers (1) Villages (7)
Ethnic Products (1) Sacred Places (3) Waterfalls (2)
Forts (1) Temples (6)
Gurdwaras (2) Tourist Destinations (2)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments