Rock Fort Express

Rock Fort Express runs between Chennai Egmore Railway Station and Kumbakonam Railway Station. Both stations are located in Tamil Nadu. The train is named after the Rock Fort, a 12th century fortress in Tiruchirapalli. Main towns on the way are Tambaram, Chengalpattu, Virudhachalam, Ariyalur, Srirangam, Tiruchirapalli and Thanjavur. Rock Fort Express operates daily and covers a distance of 426 km. First A/C, second A/C, first class, third A/C and sleeper class coaches are available.

Train number 6177: Chennai to Kumbakonam, leaves Chennai at 22:30 hrs.
Train number 6178: Kumbakonam to Chennai, leaves Kumbakonam at 19:30 hrs.

Base fare:
Class IA Rs 1512.00
Class IIA Rs 799.00
Class FC Rs 580.00
Class IIIA Rs 514.00
Class SL Rs 194.00

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments