India | Tamil Nadu

Dharmapuri District

Dharmapuri District is bordered by Vellore and Thiruvannamalai districts in the east, Salem District in the south, Bangalore and Chamrajnagar districts of the state of Karnataka in the west and Chittoor District of the state of Andhra Pradesh in the north. The main languages spoken are Tamil, Kannada, Telegu and Urdu. With an area of 9,622 sq km, Dharmapuri District has a population of over 2.6 million. The climate is generally warm and the temperature varies from 12o C to 35o C. It receives an annual rainfall of about 80 cm.

Apatite, copper ore, corundum, gold, iron ore, limestone, magnesite, nickel, quartz, vermiculite, black granite and grey granite are the major minerals found. Dharmapuri also has three spinning mills in public sectors along with a number of sago mills which are producing starch out of Tapioca. Ashok Leyland, Lakshmi Automotive Looms, TVS Moped, Indian Tobacco, Premier Mills, AsianBearings and English Electricals are the major industries.

Theerthamalai is the major tourist spot in Dharmapuri District. Other tourist attractions include Hogenakkal Falls, Adhiyamankottam, Subramanya Siva Memorial at Papparapatti, Rajaji Memorial at Thorapalli and Krishhnagiri Dam.

Updated on 18th July, 2005
District: Dharmapuri

Bus Stations (1) Rivers (1) Trains and Railway Stations (9)
Cities and Towns (18) Schools (1) Villages (18)
Post Offices (1) Temples (2) Waterfalls (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments