Popular Pages



Lord Brahma

The Creator

Lord Brahma is one of the gods in the Hindu trinity. The others are Shiva and Vishnu. Brahma is the creator of everything in the world including Agni (Fire), Vayu (air), and Surya (Sun). Brahma is considered Swayambhu (self-manifest) and eternal. This four-faced god, each face representing a Veda, has four hands carrying sacrificial tools. Other names are Prajapati, Brhaspathi and Brahmanaspati. He is seated on a lotus which is a symbol of glorious existence. The lotus seat is often depicted as rooted in the navel of Lord Vishnu, reclining on Adi Sesha. The swan, well-known for its judgment of good and bad, is Brahma's mount. Saraswati is his divine consort.

There is no cult or school of worship dedicated to Brahma. A legend goes that he was cursed to oblivion. He has but one solitary temple at Pushkar, Rajasthan and some small shrines across the country.

Updated on 30th September, 2023

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

Warning : fopen(cache/29862) [ function.fopen ]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in /usr/var/www/atzip.us/htdocs/i9/i9show.php on line 618

Warning : fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /usr/var/www/atzip.us/htdocs/i9/i9show.php on line 619

Warning : fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /usr/var/www/atzip.us/htdocs/i9/i9show.php on line 620