India | Daman and Diu

Daman and Diu

Daman and Diu together constitute the second smallest union territory of India. Earlier it was part of Goa. It was only when Goa became a full fledged state, that the territory was separated from Goa to form an independent union territory. Daman lies on the Gujarat coast while Diu is an islet in the southern fringe of Kathiawar peninsula. Diu lies in the Gulf of Cambay near Veraval Port and is separated from the southern extremity of the Saurashtra peninsula by a narrow channel running through a swamp. Daman has a mild and humid climate while the climate of Diu is sultry.

Gujarati is the official language of the territory. Daman boasts a rich and multi-faced cultural heritage. Various Portuguese dances are well preserved and still widely presented. The population comprises Hindus and a minority of Christians and Muslims. Fishing is the main economic activity. There are about 550 industrial units in the territory. The main industrial areas of the union territory are Somnath, Dabhel, Bhimpore and Kadaiya.

The important tourist places in Daman are the Devka Beach, Jampore Beach, Kachigam Tank, Satya Sagar Udyan and Kadaiya Lake Garden. Jallender Beach, Nagao Beach and Children's Park at Ghoghla are some of the tourist centers in Diu. Daman has an airport operating flights mostly to Baroda and Mumbai. Vapi Railway Station is about 10 km from Daman, on the Mumbai and Surat line.

Updated on 3rd April, 2019

Airports (2) Fairs and Festivals (1) Parks and Gardens (3)
Beaches (8) Forts (4) Performing Arts (1)
Churches (3) Historical Monuments (4) Resorts (1)
Cities and Towns (3) Hotels (1) Rocks and Caves (1)
Districts (2) Museums and Archives (1) Temples (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments