India | Orissa

Mayurbhanj District

Mayurbhanj, the erstwhile kingdom of Mayurs and the Bhanjas, was merged with the state of Orissa in 1949. It is bounded in the north by Midnapore District of West Bengal and West Singhbhum District of Jharkhand, in the south by Baleswar District and in the west by Keonjhar District. It forms the largest district of Orissa in terms of area as well as forest cover. With its headquarters at Baripada, Mayurbhanj has an area of 10,410 sq km with a population of 2 million. The forests have a varied flora and fauna and its salubrious climate makes the region an ideal habitat for tropical birds and animals. The Budhabalanga is the major river. Mayurbhanj is famous for the horn works, stone and clay works, Tussar silk, jute mills and spinning mills. Sunei is an irrigation and power project. Tourist spots are Barehipani Waterfall, Bhitarkanika wildlife sanctuary, Deokund, Haripur, Khiching, and Similipal National Park. Tourist season ranges from November to June.

Updated on 7th June, 2005

Archeological Sites (2) Hotels (1) Universities (1)
Bus Stations (2) Sacred Places (2) Villages (6)
Cities and Towns (3) Shopping (3) Waterfalls (3)
Hills and Mountains (1) Temples (1) Wildlife Sanctuaries (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments