A Taluk is an administrative division below a district. It is also called tehsil (or sometimes, tahsil or taluka.) A taluk generally comprises about 100 surrounding villages with a small town as its headquarters. Normally, a district consists of 5 to 10 taluks. The revenue officer heading the taluk is called Tahsildar (also, Tehsildar.)

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments