India | Maharashtra

Amaravati District

Amaravati District is bordered by Wardha District and Nagpur District in the east and north-east, Yavatmal District in the south and south-west, Washim District, Buldhana District and Akola District in the west and Betul District of the state of Madhya Pradesh in the north. It has a population of over 2.2 million. Amaravati is the most sacred Buddhist pilgrim center in south India. It receives an annual rainfall of about 85 cm.

Amaravati District has a total geographical area of 12,626 sq km. The main river is Purna, emerging form the hilly area of Satpura Mountain. Amaravati has a forest area of about 3,577 sq km. The temperature varies from 12o C to 44o C. The main cash crop is white gold cotton. Soyabean, Jowar (sorghum), tur, mug, udid and groundnut are the kharif crops.

The major attractions include Chikaldara Wildlife Sanctuary, Gugamal National Park, Melghat Tiger Reserve and Wan Sanctuary. Amaravati District is well known for the Great Stupa or Maha Chaitya.

Updated on 7th June, 2005

Bus Stations (11) Lakes and Glaciers (2) Universities (1)
Cities and Towns (12) Sacred Places (1) Villages (4)
Forts (1) Tourist Destinations (3) Wildlife Sanctuaries (4)
Hill Stations (1) Trains and Railway Stations (4)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments