India | Chhattisgarh

Sarguja District

Sarguja District is located in the northern part of Chhattisgarh and is bordered by the states of Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Orissa and Madhya Pradesh. The name 'Sarguja' was derived from an oil-seed, presently called as 'Jatangi'. When the crop flowers it looks like a gold sheet spread over the fields.

The majority of the people are tribes. There are many natural and scenic locations and great places of worship. The major tourist destinations are Ambikapur, Ramgarh and Sita-Bengra, Sanjay National Park, Deepadih, and Semarsot Wildlife Sanctuary. The Thinthini Pathar, a rock of about two hundred quintals, cylindrical in shape and resting on ground rocks also attracts tourists. Mainpat, a hill station, is famous for the Tiger Point waterfall.

Updated on 7th June, 2005

Bus Stations (2) Rocks and Caves (1) Villages (61)
Cities and Towns (18) Sacred Places (2) Waterfalls (1)
Hill Stations (1) Temples (2) Wildlife Sanctuaries (3)
Rivers (1) Trains and Railway Stations (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments