India | Kerala | Thiruvananthapuram

University of Kerala

The University of Kerala, originally called the University of Travancore, was established in 1937 by the then Travancore king, Shri Chithira Thirunal Balarama Varma, long before the State of Kerala was constituted. The jurisdiction of the University is confined to the districts of Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Alappuzha and parts of Pathanamthitta. There are regional offices and information centers in all districts.

Situated in the heart of Thiruvananthapuram, the capital city of Kerala, and with more than two score departments of teaching and research, and 81 affiliated colleges, the University of Kerala is one of the premier centers of higher education in the State. Along with traditional disciplines, special emphasis is laid on teacher education, distance education and future studies. Through its various Centres much collaborative work is done with other universities in India and abroad. The University of Kerala has widened its activities by recognizing numerous other academic institutions engaged in research and specialized studies.

The University has published nearly a hundred books in different languages. This includes reprints of ancient works like Hortus Malabaricus, comprehensive lexicons, masterpieces of renowned authors, journals and a pictorial Ramayana reproduced from palm-leaf manuscripts. There is also a massive collection of books in the Library.

The University of Kerala is the first in the country to ensure student participation in the Syndicate. There are also numerous student services and co-curricular programs.

Updated on 5th May, 2014
District: Thiruvananthapuram
Location: Palayam
Phone: 91-471-2306422
Fax: 91-471-2307158


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments