India | Kerala


Malayalam, a Dravidian language, is the official language of Kerala. About 31.8 million people speak this language. There are five main regional dialects of Malayalam, along with a number of communal dialects. Many words have been borrowed from Sanskrit. The language has 37 consonants and 16 vowels. It differs from the other Dravidian language as the personal endings on verbs are absent. It has a one-to -one correspondence with the Indo Aryan Devanagari syllabary. Malayalam has a written tradition dating back to the late 9th century.

Updated on 13th December, 2005

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

privacy policy