Ashta Dikpalakas

Ashta Dikpalakas are the eight gods ruling the eight quarters or the eight zones of the universe. They are Indra (East), Agni (Southeast), Yama (South), Niruthi (Southwest), Varuna (West), Kubera (North) and Eesana (Northeast).

According to Hinduism, each direction is assigned to a particular god as chief guardian ensuring orderliness of the universe and the protection of its occupants. Vaastu Shastra is based on these eight directions.

Updated on 26th February, 2016


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments